Skip to main content

Philippe Noble

Philippe Noble (b. 1949) has built an impressive oeuvre of translations from Dutch literature, with more than 35 titles, including works by J. Bernlef, Anne Frank, Arnon Grunberg, Etty Hillesum, Harry Mulisch, Multatuli, Cees Nooteboom, E. du Perron, P.F. Thomése, David Van Reybrouck and Leon de Winter. Additionally, he has contributed translations to numerous French anthologies of Dutch and Flemish short stories and poetry.

In 1981 Philippe Noble was awarded the Martinus Nijhoff Prize for his French translation of ‘Country of Origin’ by E. du Perron. Alongside his translations he has contributed in various ways to promoting the visiblity of Dutch literature in the French-speaking world.