Skip to main content

Yannis Ioannidis

Yannis Ioannidis (b. 1953) worked for the theatre for five years. From 1983 to 1993 he lived in the Netherlands, where he studied Dutch and worked for various translation agencies. Between 2005 and 2013 he was employed as an official translator by the Greek Embassy in The Hague. His literary translations include the following titles:

  • The Rumours, ‘Past Imperfect’, The Sorrow of Belgium and ‘The Temptation’ by Hugo Claus
  • ‘The Darkroom of Damocles’ by Willem Frederik Hermans
  • ‘Gentlemen of Tea’ and ‘Threshold of Fire’ by Hella Haasse
  • ‘The Encyclopedia of Stupidity’ by Matthijs van Boxtel
  • ‘Phantom Pain’ by Arnon Grunberg