Skip to main content

About Flanders

Flanders is the northern Dutch-speaking part of Belgium, with Brussels as its capital. It has 6.5 million inhabitants. Flanders is bordered by Wallonia (the southern, French-speaking part of Belgium) to the south, the Netherlands to the north and east and the North Sea to the west.


Flanders has its own parliament and government, headed by a Minister-President. It is responsible for culture, education, welfare, public works and several other policy domains.

Important Flemish cities, besides Brussels, are Antwerp, Ghent, Bruges, Leuven and Hasselt.